Sri Thendayuthapani Temple also known as Chettiars’ Temple is one of the oldest temple in Singapore and was built in the year 1859 A.D. by Nattukkottai Chettiars. Chettiars’ Temple Society, the management body of Sri Thendayuthapani Temple also administers another temple Sri Layan Sithi Vinayagar Temple located in the center of China Town at 73, Keong Saik Road.
Sri Thendayuthapani temple listed in Singapore Tourism Board, as a tourist attraction, has a picturesque location and magnificent vicinity. It sprawls over a spacious area and is airy and bright. The main deity of this temple is Lord Sri Thendayuthapani also called Murugan. Lord Thendayuthapani has other names such as Balasubrahmanyan, Shanmukhan, Swaminathan, Vallimanalan, Palaniandavar, Arumugan, Saravanan, Sevar Kodiyon, etc.
At the entrance of the main sanctum, Lord Jambu Vinayagar has been erected on the right and Idumban on the left. In 1878, two separate sanctums were built for Lord Sundareswarar and Meenakshi Amman (incarnation of Lord Sivan and Goddess Sakthi).
Later, all other important deities including the Navagrahas were erected.